Personal

What is blogging anyway?

I’ll admit it: I’m not a blogger. The thought of putting together a blog post and sharing it with the world* makes me want to jump off the tallest building I can find.

giphy (3)

Source: Giphy

Through some soul search and personal reflection, I’ve concluded that these issues have nothing to do with the how’s nor the why’s of blogging; while I may not be the most tech-savvy individual in the greater Makana district, I’d say my abilities to navigate the interweb are decent, and I believe my reasons for creating this blog are quite clear. Rather, I’ve come to realize, they are rooted in the opinionated nature of blogs.

Of course, there are many reasons for a person or organisation to maintain a blog. Some may do it to document politics or current affairs, others may use a blog as an outlet for their hobbies or passions (I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t low-key obsessed with BuzzFeed Food) while news institutions may choose to use a blog as their main online forum. Yet, for me, the word ‘blog’ invokes connotations of lengthy, opinionated posts filled with strong-worded ideas and thoughts. At worst, these posts are the pure thoughts and ramblings of the author, while at best they are well thought-out and well-supported opinion pieces.

As for me? I am not strong-worded, my ramblings are rarely well thought-out and (as a Jew who was been blessed with her family’s rash personality) I hate having to spare the time to support all the things I say.

giphy

Source: Giphy

As a journalist-in-training, I’ve become comfortable with putting together news and feature pieces in the name of university work, and I’d like to think that I’ve made some meaningful contributions to local and student press. But, as far as things go, opinion pieces are not my thing.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried to face and overcome this barrier. My most recent attempt has been through my involvement with the Oppidan Press, one of the student newspapers here at Rhodes University, as the Opinion Editor. In my time there over the past year, I have made visible strides in developing my skills, and yet the idea of blogging still manages to make my toes curl, put my arm-hair at attention and send any rational part of my being running to the hills.

Worry not, dear readers, for I am working on addressing these deep-rooted fears and anxieties. I must, for my future as a student in the School of Journalism and Media Studies depends on it. Do not resent me, however, if I fail to fulfil any expectations of daily posts expressing my thoughts and views on various issues. Any attempt on my behalf to do so will be shoddy, sub-par and not a true reflection of who am as a person.

For now, please keep your eyes peels for more content coming soon and feel free to engage me on any issues or questions close to your heart.

* Who am I kidding? My blogging audience consists mainly of my lecturer (hi Gill!) and the few family members I could bully into following me. Shout out to you guys!

Leave a Reply

